Meet Author Lorraine Elzia

Dynamic, Diverse and Deliciously full of flavor describe this Editor, Author, and Literary Artist. Mistress Memoirs is the debut novel for Lorraine Elzia, who has espoused the name A Deeva, and often writes under that pseudonym. She has always had an admiration for both the spoken and written word and has exercised that gregarious gift in various venues. That love affair of words, coupled with an addictive need to express herself, gave birth to a compulsion to write, which is a gift she is constantly nurturing.

In 2005, she added the title "Author" to her lists of accomplishments with the publication of her first short story "Mommy and Santa" which was published in "Chicken Soup for the Single Parent’s Soul" and her poem, "I am a Woman" was a contest winner.

Those literary achievements were proceeded by a second publication in the Chicken Soup series in 2006 with the inclusion of her story, “Letters of Love” in the Chicken Soup for the African American Woman’s Soul Anthology; inclusion in the Katrina Anthology, Surfacing...Phenomenal Women on Passion, Politics & Purpose, and a poem, “Levitate” in the Gumbo for the Soul Anthology.
In 2007, Lorraine continued to strike while the literary fire was still hot with “A Test of Faith” in the Triumph of My Soul Anthology and she is a contributing author in the upcoming second Gumbo for the Soul Anthology, with inclusion of her poem “Am I My Brother’s Keeper.”

Lorraine is co-owner of an editing company: Eve’s Literary Services, contributing editor of the “Gumbo for the Soul” series; and co-moderator of Essentially Women, a writing group for African American women. She is from Austin, Texas, by way of Motown (Detroit, Michigan) and it is her desire that through the written word, delivered in different genres, she will be able to inspire and motivate others to see the beauty that resides within all people.

Visit these sites to learn more about Lorraine:

A Deeva on Myspace:

Eve's Literary Service:

Peace in the Storm Publishing:
The Triumph Of My Soul Anthology: